Conroe Hit & Run Accident Attorney
Hit & Run Accident Claims in Texas
In Texas, as in other states, it is illegal to flee the scene of an accident. “Fleeing the scene” means leaving without checking to see if others are hurt or need help or providing contact information to others involved in the accident. Unfortunately, due to a wide variety of reasons, people often fail to stop after an accident. This leaves injured motorists with seemingly few options for financial recovery.
If you were involved in a hit-and-run accident, meaning the person who caused the crash did not stop, turn to the legal team at Scott Law Firm. You could still have options for recovering compensation, and our Conroe hit-and-run lawyers can help you understand your rights. We are ready to work with you and your insurance company to help you recover any and all benefits you may be owed.
Give us a call at (936) 243-4299 or contact us online to get started with a free and confidential consultation. Hablamos español.
Auto Insurance Requirements in Texas
In Texas, all drivers are required to carry minimum liability insurance. Anyone found to be operating a motor vehicle without the minimum insurance coverage is subject to certain penalties, including fines and administrative repercussions.
Minimum liability insurance requirements in Texas include:
- At least $30,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- At least $60,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
- At least $25,000 in property damage liability per accident
The purpose of minimum liability insurance coverage is to provide a source for accident victims to recover compensation for their damages, such as medical bills and vehicle repairs. But when a person does not stop after causing an accident, it is essentially as though they do not have any insurance. In fact, failure to have auto insurance is one of the main reasons that drivers flee accident scenes, along with driving while intoxicated and a general fear of repercussions following the crash.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
So, what are your options if you are involved in a hit-and-run accident? If you have uninsured motorist coverage on your auto insurance policy, you could recover compensation for your damages by filing a claim with your own insurance provider.
Uninsured motorist coverage, often referred to as UM coverage, is not required in Texas. However, it is highly recommended that you choose to purchase this optional form of coverage. Not only does it protect you in the event of a hit-and-run, but it also allows you to obtain additional compensation if the driver who hits you does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover the full cost of your damages.
How Our Attorneys Can Help
Being involved in any type of motor vehicle accident is a stressful and often overwhelming experience. But when you are involved in a hit-and-run accident, you are likely to face an additional number of challenges. At Scott Law Firm, our Conroe hit-and-run accident attorneys understand what you are up against, which is why we work tirelessly to examine your various legal options and work to protect your rights.
If you were able to obtain any information about the hit-and-run driver, such as the model/make of their vehicle or the license plate number, or if law enforcement was able to ascertain such information by interviewing witnesses or reviewing nearby security camera footage, it may be possible to locate the at-fault driver. If this the case, our team can build a case that illustrates the clear and obvious negligence of the at-fault driver.
However, in some cases, it is not possible to locate the hit-and-run driver. When this happens, our team will work with you to go over your auto insurance policy to determine if you may be able to file an uninsured motorist claim or if there are other legal options available to you.
Request a Free Consultation Today
At Scott Law Firm, we understand that you may be dealing with catastrophic injuries, mounting medical bills, lost income, and immense pain and suffering. The last thing you need is to worry about how you are going to pay for it all, or how you are going to navigate the personal injury claims process.
Let our team take on the details of your case so that you can focus on healing. We are committed to not only helping injured individuals and their families seek justice but also to making our community a better, safer place by holding negligent parties accountable for the harm they cause. There are no out-of-pocket expenses for you when you work with our firm; instead, we only collect attorneys’ fees if and when we recover compensation on your behalf.
Contact us online or by phone at (936) 243-4299 today. We can travel to meet you or discuss your case over the phone if you are unable to make it to our office.
“From the initial call inquiry to meeting Patrick and Krystal in the office, to the settlement negotiations, everything was handled with the utmost professionalism.”- Jeremy R.
“I was very pleased with the settlement I received because of their service, but what really impressed me the most was the way they genuinely cared about me.”- Kim R.
“Patrick is professional and down to earth, he is great at easing your nerves during the process and goes out of his way to make sure your case is taken care of.”- Katie E.